常见问题

什么是 Rapid.Space?

Rapid.Space 是由Nexedi 集团专为低成本,高性能服务器需求推出的托管服务,Rapid.Space 提供的解决方案包括云虚拟机,数据库集群的租用,主机托管等等。 服务器采用 SlapOS 边缘计算技术进行运营和管理,服务器硬件满足 Open Compute Project 标准。

Rapid.Space 提供具有固态硬盘和 10Gbps 局域网的大型服务器集群,而价格不到传统公共云供应商的十分之一。Rapid.Space 的所有源代码(包括会计和计费)在开源/自由软件许可下可以任意获取,方便开发人员自由使用 Rapid.Space 的服务,同时还可以贡献代码。 Rapid.Space 的服务器全部使用再生硬件,通过循环利用促进环境保护。

山西迅空间大数据科技有限公司是 Rapid.Space 在中国的代理商。

为什么 Rapid.Space 只提供高性能的服务器?

我们认为 Rapid.Space 提供小的或者中等大小的处理器并没有很大的意义。OnlineKimsufi 等公司在此方面已经有极具竞争力的价格提供优质服务。

此外,目前托管在小型服务器上的大多数网页应用程序将最终由使用分散式架构和分布式计算的网页浏览器托管。借助 WebTorrentCribJSOfficeJSService Workers 等技术 ,可以将网页浏览器转变为网页服务器,分散式 CDN 和开发环境。

然而,在一个完全分散的网络,由于应用程序同时需要大数据和低延迟,所以服务器仍然有必要。Rapid.Space 偏重于支持大数据处理,大型交易系统等应用程序。

Rapid.Space 可提供域名管理?

不提供。请使用第三方供应商(例如 万网阿里云 )。

Rapid.Space 可提供 DNS 管理?

不提供。请使用第三方供应商(例如 万网阿里云 )。

Rapid.Space 支持通过 IPv4 访问“外部互联网”吗?

是的,但存在一些限制。传出 IPv4 流量必须支持 NAT,并且仅限于目标主机的白名单。当然这对于大多数应用程序来说已足够。

对于不希望有任何限制的应用程序,建议每月花费几十元通过一个 IPv6 路径将 Rapid.Space 虚拟机连接到第三方供应商(例如 OnlineKimsufi ),基于 4in6 协议,采用该方法使所有的 IPv4 流量通过该路径。

我可以在 IPv4 上访问我的 Rapid.Space 机器吗?

当然可以。Rapid.Space 提供全覆盖 HTTP / HTTPS CDN,可在 IPv4 上访问;同时此 CDN 充当在 IPv6 上的 Rapid.Space 机器的代理。也通过配置传入流量白名单,通过任何协议直接在 IPv6 上进行连接(请参阅 技术优势)。这两种方法都是免费的。

我可以连接 Rapid.Space 虚拟机到远程储存吗?

可以。您可以使用 qemu-nbd 协议将虚拟机连接到 IPv6 上的远程存储(请参阅技术优势 )。这方便安装与默认 Debian 10 不同的操作系统,同时也益于安装远程加密存储和复制文件。

Rapid.Space 支持 SMTP 中继?

不支持。因为我们不想托管垃圾邮件发送者,我们希望节省反垃圾邮件过滤器的成本。

如果您需要 SMTP 中继,请注册第三方托管服务提供商(例如 Mandrill ),您可以向我们咨询如何使用 IPv6 上的 SMTP。

我可以在中国使用 Rapid.Space 吗?

可以。只要您拥有有效的 ICP 备案号或许可证 。我们的全球 CDN 在中国大陆有 Edge 节点,可连接中国联通,中国移动和中国电信。

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Rapid.Space?

Rapid.Space is the low cost, high performance and ethical cloud service of Nexedi group, powered by Open Compute Project hardware and operated by VIFIB using SlapOS Edge Computing technology.

Rapid.Space provides large size server cluster with SSD storage and 10 Gbps LAN at a fraction of the cost of traditional public cloud providers. All source code of Rapid.Space, including accounting and billing, is provided under Open Source / Free Software licenses so that developers can either contribute to Rapid.Space features or replicate Rapid.Space on their premises. By relying on on recycled hardware, Rapid.Space contributes to environmental protection through circular economy.

Why does Rapid.Space only offer big servers?

We believe that it would not make much sense for Rapid.Space to offer small or mid-size servers.

Companies such as Online or Kimsufi already provide fabulous service at incredibly competitive price.

Also, most Web applications currently hosted on small servers will eventually end up hosted directly by Web browsers using decentralised architecture and distributed computing. With technologies such as WebTorrent, CribJS, OfficeJS and Service Workers, it is possible to turn a Web browser into both a Web server, a decentralised CDN and a development environment.

Yet, in a fully decentralised Web, servers are still required for applications which require at the same time big data and low latency. Those applications (big data processing, big transactional systems) are the main long term focus of Rapid.Space.

Does Rapid.Space allow to manage domains?

No. Please use a third party provider (for example Gandi).

Does Rapid.Space allow to manage DNS?

No. Please use a third party provider (for example Gandi).

Does Rapid.Space allow to access the "outside internet" over IPv4?

Yes, with some limitations. Outgoing IPv4 traffic must support NAT and is limited to a whitelist of destination hosts. For most applications, it is enough.

For applications that need to remove all limitations, one possibility which costs a few Euros per month is to connect Rapid.Space VM to a third party provider (ex. Online or Kimsufi) through an IPv6 tunnel and route all IPv4 traffic through this tunnel using 4in6 protocol for example.

Can I access my Rapid.Space machine over IPv4?

Yes. Rapid Space provides a global HTTP/HTTPS CDN which is accessible over IPv4 and acts as a proxy to your Rapid.Space machine over IPv6. Connecting directly via IPv6 is also possible with any protocol by configuring your incoming traffic whitelist (see Features). Both are free-of-charge.

Can I connect Rapid.Space VM to remote storage?

Yes. You can connect a Rapid.Space VM to a remote storage over IPv6 using the qemu-nbd protocol (see Features). This can be useful to install a different OS than the default Debian 10. It is also useful to mount a remote encrypted storage and copy files.

Does Rapid.Space support SMTP relaying?

No, because we do not want to host spammers and we want to save costs on anti-spam filters.

If you need SMTP relaying, please sign up with a third party hosting provider (for example Mandrill), then inquire with us regarding using SMTP over IPv6.

Can I use Rapid.Space in China?

Yes, as long as you have valid ICP license. Our global CDN has Edge nodes in mainland China with connectivity to China Unicom, China Mobile and China Telecom.

Can I contribute to Rapid.Space?

You can contribute creating a point of presence in your region, by deploying an OCP Rack at your company or inside a data centre in your region. Servers you allocate to Rapid.Space will appear under your company and region's names.